Bc #46

If a bullet hit me [the photographers]’d get a shot worth so much more than my life that I’m not even sure whom to hate: the Chetnik sniper or these monkeys with Nikons. For the Chetniks I’m just a simple target but these others only confirm my utter helplessness and even want to take advantage of it. In Sarajevo, death is a job for all of them. Life has been narrowed down completely, reduced to gestures.

(Uit: Semezdin Mehmedinović, Sarajevo Blues (orig. [1996], vert. Ammiel Alcalay). San Francisco: City Lights Books, 1998, 74)

Geef een reactie

